Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Blog Tour & Giveaway for the Team Cerberus Series by Melissa Kay Clarke

Rescuing Annabeth
Team Cerberus Book 2
by Melissa Kay Clarke
Genre: Military Romantic Suspense
The biggest book exposition of the year is just around the corner and literary agent Annabeth Switcher is feeling the pressure. Between babysitting her newest client hell-bent on making her miserable and taking care of the thousands of little things that require her attention, she doesn't have time for a personal life. No matter how much a certain Navy SEAL enters her thoughts.

Levi "Hick" Salter spotted the curvy redhead beauty at a friend's wedding. She is vivacious, brassy and so full of life, he's drawn to her like a moth to a flame. Even though they live on opposite sides of the country, their mutual attraction is too much to resist. Thus begins a long distance relationship for these "friends with benefits." They can't be more - he's committed to his duty and she's got her own life. Phone calls and the occasional meet up is the best they can hope for.

The Navy combines Hick's team with the one headed by Matthew "Wolf" Steel to hunt down a terrorist cell intent on bring down Western culture. While Hick is out trying to save the world from fanatics, Annabeth's concentrating on insuring her clients have a smooth convention. Neither knew their two worlds would collide so violently.

When the cell sets their sights on the literary exposition, Hick must rally the SEALs to save the day and his curvy bombshell. Nothing else matters but Rescuing Annabeth.

This is a full length novel and incorporates the entire SEAL team from Susan Stoker's Seal Of Protection series. 

TEAM CERBERUS (Each story is complete with its own HEA)

Saving Olivia
Team Cerberus Book 1
Two million people disappear into human trafficking every year. Olivia Parker would never have believed she could be one of them. Born to a barely functional mother and caring for her dependent brother, Olivia was determined to make their future better than their troubled past. Instead, she finds herself thrown into a nightmare from which she cannot awaken

Navy Seal, Grayson "Bruiser" Titus, abandoned as a baby, creates a family with his SEAL team. He would do anything for them and knows they would do the same. However, something is missing - could he find it with the intriguing beautiful sister of Jayden Parker? Meeting Olivia feels like looking at his future wrapped in a pair of deep hazel eyes.

Bruiser's team would follow him into the pits of hell. It only stands to reason when Olivia disappears they rally around him. Being SEALs meant they often battled the worse dregs of humanity for God and Country.

However, this is personal.

Saving her is a one-in-a-million long shot, but they will do whatever it takes to bring her home. The only question is: will it be in time to save both body and mind or will her new reality finally break her spirit?
** Warning - Contains adult subject matter **

Protecting Joselyn
Team Cerberus Book 0
For three terrifying years, Joselyn Kendrik lived a half-life in Witness Protection hiding from a serial murderer and rapist nicknamed 'The Gardener'. After he was killed while placing a slashed teddy bear dressed as her on her father's grave, she could finally look forward to some normalcy in her life. Her newfound peace is shattered a year later when she receives a sinister gift eerily similar to others sent by The Gardener. Although assured by the police it is a copycat, she isn't as confident. Regardless of his identity, her stalker has made one thing perfectly clear; he's set his sights on her and nothing will stop him.

Maddox "River" Benson is looking in the rear-view mirror at a twenty-year career with the Navy SEALs. Contemplating an uncertain future, River jumps at the chance to assist an old friend in the New Orleans Police Department. There is an unknown stalker zeroing in on an innocent young woman. Although there is only so much the police can do officially, River isn't as restricted. Protecting Joselyn is his only priority.

Joselyn's schedule is a bane to River's security strategy. The feisty beauty is intent on pursuing her budding career regardless of her sexy bodyguard's advice. Although their opinions clash in the beginning, the escalating threats force them to come to a compromise. He must trust her with freedom and she must trust him with her life. Meanwhile, the growing attraction between them creates an entirely different set of issues. 

How can he concentrate on protecting Joselyn when thoughts of claiming her for his own continually distract him?

When her stalker draws closer, will one ex-SEAL have what it takes to ensure her survival? 

Will River be able to Protect Joselyn?
Melissa was born in Tupelo, Mississippi and raised in Houlka, a small rural town forty-five minutes southwest down the famous Natchez Trace. She found a love of reading very early and quickly devoured everything she could. Told repeatedly that she had a wonderful imagination, she turned to scribbling her musings and wrote her first novel while in college. It was never published and has since vanished. The death of a close friend who aspired to become an author reawakened her own desire resulting in penning her first book, Shattered Dreams, published in 2013.

Melissa now resides in Meridian, Mississippi with her supportive family – husband, Robert and daughter Rebecca, two cats, and two dogs. When she isn't writing, she spends way too much time with her online friends and feeding her ravenous appetite for the written word.

Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts, teasers and a giveaway!

Blog Tour & Giveaway for Blood Demons by Richard Jeffries

by Richard Jeffries
Genre: Horror

Pub Date: 3/20/2018

Bloods And Crypts

Once again, America is under siege. A devastating terrorist attack has destroyed one of the nation’s most treasured landmarks. With Mt. Rushmore now reduced to a pile of rubble, Major Josiah Key, commander of the secretive Cerberus Unit, is dispatched to hunt down the mastermind responsible: the most fanatically evil extremist the world has ever known. And he’s hidden in the most isolate region of the Hindu Kush mountains of Afghanistan.
Climbing to the fiend’s remote, mysterious caves, the four-person Cerberus team encounters bloodless corpses that lead them to confront one of the greatest evils in human history: the Vetela . . . unholy creatures who inhabit the bodies of the dead and the source of all vampire legends. Their sole purpose is to guard the terrorist, and with his help, the Vetela, are finally ready to come into the light and lay waste to all humanity.

Richard Jeffries holds a degree in Creative Writing, obtained before he went to work for American intelligence. He has seen the world—and things in it—which inspired the writing of these novels. Now retired from covert ops, Jeffries divides his time between rural Connecticut and London. In his spare time he pursues his lifelong interest in Kung Fu and classical piano.

Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts and a giveaway!

Book Blitz & Giveaway for Reflection by Jessica Roberts

Jessica Roberts
Publication date: March 20th 2018
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Bright, spunky Heather Robbins has escaped her small hometown and is anxiously beginning her freshman year of college. Rising above her rocky childhood, she’s found a place where good things are finally starting to happen: her own private apartment, refreshing college classes, and an intense attachment to a mysterious and rugged classmate, Nick Richards.
But when her dreamy college life turns out to be nothing more than a wonderful dream while resting in a coma, questions threaten.
Now, Heather must press forward to unlock the real past, and find the answers buried deep in her mind. What she unlocks instead is a roller coaster ride through flashbacks, embellished memories, and a whirlwind romance.
And when it’s all over and she comes face to face with the truth, will she lose everything she’s fallen in love with?
Are you a book reviewer?
Request a review copy here!
He bent down by the fireplace—catching his body with his arms—and did a half push-up to rest beside me. Lying down side by side, our shoulders touching, his face close to mine, I could feel the temperature of our bodies rising, fusing together as one. Did he feel the heat?
“Let’s see here,” he huffed, teasing me with his mechanical savvy.
“Funny,” I whispered back, watching him examine the guts of the fireplace. “But once you realize it’s unfixable—”
“Hand me the matches?” His voice turned businesslike as he studied the wires.
I responded with a groan.
As I reached across his body for the small box on the floor, the smell of him suddenly caught my senses—musky and male, and much too close. I hesitated, hovering over his back, fascinated that my body was responding in a similar way to when my temper peaked. My eyelids shut, and I drank in the hot adrenalin rush, emotions that were strange, feelings I didn’t understand. I forced myself back, careful not to touch him or move any closer.
“I’ll tell you what,” I said, shaking the haze away. I brought the matches forward, lying on my stomach again but with ample space between us. “You fix it, you get a wish. If not, the wish is mine.”
He readjusted himself. “Watch and learn, sweetheart,” he said absently, keeping his attention on the project, his head bent low. “Light that for me?”
I removed a match, struck it against the strip, and carefully handed him the flame.
With a push of a button, a small spark erupted into a bright-blue flare. A muted explosion sounded, and the two-faced fire rushed across the imitation log.
“How did you do that?” I hollered.
I stared at the mesmerizing flames of blue, deep yellow, and crimson endowing our faces with a warm glow, the heat already radiating through the glass. However, a different sort of heat ignited within me. It was my competitive edge, I reasoned. A few failed attempts from him would have been nice before it burst into a bright, blazing banner of victory.
“Ahhh, the sweet smell of methane,” he heckled.
Even through my poor attitude, I allowed my shoulder to nudge his. I went to my knees and crawled toward the small cabinet to put away the matchbox. I breathed out heavily, releasing all my confusing responses to him.
“Next time you want to light it, just—”
“I know, I know,” I told him. “I watched you.” I reached up, tugging on the cabinet drawer and telling myself he could explain when I wasn’t so wound up.
Like a sudden shift in the weather, a solid wall of warmth pressed into my back as his body covered mine from behind. I stiffened instantly. He reached around my rigid body and gently took the matchbox from my hand, his entire frame as calm as a warm summer breeze, encasing mine.
As he leaned forward, putting the matchbox in the bag and placing it in the cabinet, his words teased softly in my ear, “I’m going to have to teach you some manners.”
His whispers drifted deep inside me. Every thought left instantly, replaced with a keen awareness of the warm areas where we touched. A soft energy from his body merged with a surge from my own, and with each passing second the energy increased.
“Lesson one,” his even voice rolled off my shoulder, terrifyingly close. “What do you say to someone who fixes your fireplace?”
I was lost in the emotion, my throat nervously parched, an arid swallow catching at the base of it. “Thanks?”
“You’re welcome.”
The embrace from behind felt too heavenly to withdraw from, like little angel wings caressing my entire back.
My breathing picked up as his fingers softly enveloped my shoulders. My eyes locked shut, but that only amplified the sensation as his fingers glided across the edges of my collarbone, the tips sending little bolts of lightning through my body.
I stayed unmoving, gratified and petrified at the same time. He had never touched me so intimately, as if he were getting to know me. To most it was a simple shoulder massage, but to me it was dangerous. And even though I knew this, I longed for the way his hands touched me in such a personal and protective way.

Author Bio:
Jessica grew up in the San Francisco, California Bay Area where she spent most of her time playing sports alongside her six siblings. She was crowned Miss Teen California her senior year of high school, and went on to Brigham Young University where she graduated in Human Development. She currently resides in Utah with her husband and three children.


Book Blitz & Giveaway for Dirty Blue by N.E. Henderson

Dirty Blue
N.E. Henderson
Publication date: March 20th 2018
Genres: Contemporary, New Adult, Romance
I’ve known his name a long time. You’d have to live under a rock not to know of the heartless and cruel reputation the Acerbi family has established. They are monsters cloaked in suits and ties, or so my colleagues in blue have said. Being on the job, you quickly learn to watch your back, trust no one, and as much as I hate to admit this, sometimes that includes a fellow badge.
But to want to kill your own child for being born? Now that’s monstrous. Unjust. And something I will not stand for. I’ll take him down before I allow an innocent to be harmed.
Even if that means not only taking on the most dangerous family in Southern California but bringing down the drug lord they’re in bed with too.
“If you’re here to nag me, please leave. I’m not dealing with your cop shit today.”
“Why not? I would think the sooner you answer my questions, show me anything I want to see, be honest with me, the sooner I’ll be out of your hair. I’d have thought that would be something you would want. Don’t you want to prove your innocence?”
“You don’t have shit on me and we both know it. If you did, I’d be in handcuffs, but I’m not, am I?” It’s not a question he wants a response to and he doesn’t stop to let me give one even if I wanted to. “You think I’m dirty, your boss thinks I am, so what? I don’t give a shit, Bri. You’re not going to find anything because there is nothing to find.”
“I don’t think you’re dirty,” I defend myself, quicker than I realize what’s coming out of my mouth. Sure, it’s my job to find the evidence if it exists, but my gut has known from the day I met him he wasn’t dirty. And I don’t think he’s a drug smuggler. I do think he’s keeping something a secret, but I don’t think that’s it. Something isn’t right about this case. I’ve felt that since my interview with Gabriel’s mother.
“Then why are you here if it isn’t to dig up something you think I’m dirty of doing?”
I move, taking a step into the room, getting closer to him and not for a professional reason. His remark hit something inside me and not in a good way.
“D,” I sigh, taking another step. “This is my job. A case that involves you was assigned to me. My job is to determine if there is any validation to the accusation against you. I am going to be thorough in this investigation whether you like it or not.” I tap my index finger on his desk to drive my point home. “But at no point”—my own anger starts to seep out of my voice—“did I ever give you the impression I thought you were dirty.”
I’m getting mad and I’ve never shown emotions or lost my composure on the job before. The fact that I am now, with him, is only agitating me.
His dark eyes cut away from me, but I see the moment his temper takes a step back. After another second, he looks down.
“The first day we met, you told me you thought I had an illegal business relationship with Diaz.” His eyes glide up. “Are you saying that’s changed? You no longer think I’m in bed with the Mexican Devil?”
This is what I didn’t need. The lines between us are more blurred than I thought.
He’s right; I did say that. It was a tactic I often use. A tactic I wanted to work on him, but it didn’t.
My knee touches one of his, startling the both of us. I didn’t even realize I’d moved this close. I’m too close and I shouldn’t be in his personal space. I know better, yet I’m not taking a step away.
“I’ve heard a lot of things about your family, mostly of your father through others on the force, but I never believe anything as truth until it’s proven. Until I see it for myself.” I place my palm on his shoulder. “The first day we met, something told me you weren’t bad, or dirty, as you said. I don’t judge without knowledge, without the truth, Drago. And right now, for some unknown reason, I don’t believe you’re guilty of all the accusations that have been made.”
The next thing I know, I’m in his arms and he’s out of his chair, standing. In a quick move, I’m placed down on his desk, on top of sheets of paper while his lips come down onto mine in such a soft manner it contradicts the aggressive way he just handled me.
I smile against his mouth, not able to hold my form to his. I like this way too much. Who knew rough and gentle could go together so well?
Still . . . This can’t happen. Again.
I go to put my hands on his chest to push him away, but he anticipates my action, quickly pushing them down. Drago then leans in closer to me, pushing my chest backward, making me strain to stay upright. His hand comes down on my dress pants, parting my thighs where it eats up the remaining space between us.
“Dra . . .” I try to say his name between our lips, but it comes out more like a moan when his other hand goes inside my suit jacket, cupping my waist.
Shit. I do not have a handle on this at all.
“D,” I finally get out, pulling away from him and successfully getting my hands on his chest, but when I push, he barely moves. Instead, he has my wrist in his hand, quickly pinning it to my back and holding me from falling at the same time. Next, my other wrist is in the hand that leaves my waist and before I know it, it’s also behind my back. A second later, my eyes widen at the realization that he’s cuffed me—with my own fucking handcuffs that were stashed between my back, clipped over my pants.
How the hell did he do that?
“What the fuck?”

Author Bio:
N. E. Henderson is the author of sexy, contemporary romance. When she isn’t writing, you can find her reading or in her Maverick playing in the dirt. Nancy was born and raised in Mississippi where she currently lives with her husband, son, and their Bull Terrier, Xena.


Cover Reveal & Giveaway for Across My Heart by Shanna Clayton

Across My Heart
Shanna Clayton
Publication date: April 27th 2018
Genres: New Adult, Romance, Suspense
Meet the Serras: A Dynasty of Murders
My entire life has been a lie.
My name isn’t real. Everything I know about my family was told to keep me from looking for them. All this time, I’ve assumed my father was dead. Imagine my surprise when I find out not only is he alive, but I have two siblings I never knew existed. Oh, and the biggest lie of all? That I’m safe.
Only one man has the guts to tell me the truth.
Casper North is everything I’m not. Brave. Wild. Adventurous-with a reputation for living on the edge. My story unravels around the same time I discover he’s stalking me. Or as he calls it, protecting me. He invades my personal space, refusing to leave. Just being near me puts his life at risk, but he stays anyway, ripping away the illusions and exposing me for who I really am.
My real name is Amelia Serra. My family’s legacy is death. One by one, we fall like dominoes, until eventually, there will be none of us left.
Guess who’s next in line? That’s right-yours truly.
I can’t save her.
She’s na├»ve. Gorgeous. And a Serra. Meaning, she will die. Soon.
I was never even supposed to meet her. She was just a side job, some extra cash in my pocket, and a favor to her father. Watch her, find out if someone’s after her-that’s all I was told to do. Then she had to go and put herself on the brink of death, forever linking my life with hers.
Now I can’t stay away.
I should get out of her life. Stay unattached. Except I can’t. There’s something about her that draws me in, and I refuse to let go. The last time I lost someone, it almost destroyed me.
Amelia just might be the girl who buries me for good.
There’s a target on her back, but she’s marking an X across my heart.
Across My Heart is a FULL-LENGTH, standalone novel at 95,000+ words.
Recommended for 17+ due to mature language and adult situations.

Author Bio:
I live and breathe all things books. When I’m not writing, I can be found eating too much chocolate, obsessing over Game of Thrones, and spending time with my crazy family.
Sign up for my newsletter->
Keep up with me on social media. I LOVE hearing from readers!


Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Blog Tour & Giveawy for Rockstar Secrets by Ja'Nese Dixon

Rockstar Secrets
Forbidden Chords Book 1
by Ja’Nese Dixon
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Millions of adoring fans dream of having one night with him, but only she has access to his heart.
Born with three commas in his bank account and melodies in his veins, Marques Carter is the rising prince of R&B. But not even his family name can guarantees success.
Brione Allen is a smart woman that made a dumb decision: trusting the wrong man. He blackmailed her family and now she’s bound by a debt they knew she couldn’t pay.
A chance meeting at his concert leads to an encrypted proposal: One week, one hundred thousand dollars, one incriminating secret. But when extortion and family ties expose them to the worst of the limelight, which secrets will they keep…and which will threaten their small light of hope?

If you like stories by Bella Andre and Layla Hagen, then this series is for you!

Ja’Nese Dixon writes tales of romance laced with strong women and stronger men. My happily ever afters are meant to inspire. So, if you’re looking for a page turner that will leave you blushing, with your heart racing, and lying to yourself about reading “just one more chapter” then grab a book.
She is an avid reader and coffee drinker, who also loves to run, cook, and quilt (and not in that order). Her ultimate goal as a writer is to give you a little “staycation” with every story.
Ja’Nese calls Houston home with her husband, three kiddos, and a four-legged diva dog. Visit her website at if you enjoy romance, suspense, and good sweet & spicy stories that inspire.

Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts and a giveaway!

Enter the Author's giveaway HERE!
(ends March 25th)

Blog Tour & Giveaway for Kiss the Sky by MK Schiller

Kiss the Sky
by MK Schiller
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Love can move mountains . . .
Strong, athletic, and driven, Tristan Sinclair is determined to fulfill his late brother’s wish to climb Pakistan’s K2, the world’s second highest mountain. He never expects part of the challenge will be getting along with one of his fellow climbers—or that the greatest peril may lie beyond the summit . . .
A passionate, life-long climber, Pakistan born Farah Nawaz is skeptical of the hotshot from Arizona. But as she and Tristan help each other conquer obstacle after obstacle, they find they have more in common than they thought—including a simmering attraction. And when suspicious deaths put them in the sights of a ruthless killer, they’ll have to cover their tracks long enough to find out why—and stay alive for a future together . . 

MK Schiller is a hopeless romantic in a hopelessly pragmatic world. In the dark of night, she sits by the warm glow of her computer monitor, reading or writing, usually with some tasty Italian…the food that is! She started imagining stories in her head at a very young age. In fact, she got so good at it that friends asked her to create plots featuring them as the heroine and the object of their affection as the hero. She hopes you enjoy her stories and find The Happily Ever After in every endeavor. M.K. Schiller loves hearing from readers.

Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts and a giveaway!

Book Blitz & Giveaway for Dominion by Julie Hall

Julie Hall
(Life After, #3)
Publication date: March 19th 2018
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
After defeating the red dragon’s legion of bloodthirsty demons, Audrey can finally settle into the afterlife with the knowledge her family is safe. But her quest for a perfect existence shatters the moment Logan is kidnapped in an attempt to bend her to Satan’s will.
Audrey must now travel to the one place no hunter has ever ventured to save the man she loves . . . Hell.
Savage demons, desiccated corpses, life sucking zombie trees, and a land of death and rot await Audrey and her friends as they battle through the fiery realm.
But Logan’s freedom comes with a price . . . the destruction of Audrey’s happily ever after.
As Satan schemes for dominion over all the realms, Audrey learns that some acts may be beyond redemption.
We sat on his bed, tucked up against the headboard, Logan sitting with one knee bent and an outstretched leg, and me curled into a ball against his chest, practically cuddled on his lap.
When my tears were spent, I let out a shaky breath of air.
“Audrey, I can’t—” Logan’s voice caught on something. His head rested on top of mine. When he continued, his voice dropped an octave, thickened with emotion. “I can’t imagine what you went through down there. I’m so very sorry. I should never have bonded with you.”
I savored the warm thud of his heartbeat on my cheek for several seconds before what he’d said sunk in. The leakage from my eyes along with a bad case of the feels must have dulled my reactions.
I jerked to a sitting position to stare at him in disbelief—and anger. My face was crusted with the salt of dried tears. There was no doubt I was a hot mess and a half. But that was nothing compared to the mess he’d just spewed.
He reached for me again, but I put a hand up to ward off his movements and curled my upper lip.
Where to even start?
“What I went through? Are you insane?” His gaze jumped around my face as if he couldn’t decide on a safe place to land. “Logan, I actually felt an echo of what you went through. I even experienced some of it in a dream or a weird out of body experience where I was you. What I went through was nothing.”
He opened his mouth to speak, but I slashed a hand through the air to stop him. “Nothing compared to what had been done to you. You were torn to shreds. Literally, in some spots.”
His face paled. I shouldn’t have gone there and instantly regretted bringing it up—but I couldn’t handle his concern for me when he had been tortured. We’d get to the “should never have bonded with you” comment next.
“You experienced some of . . . of what I went through?” he asked.
Shoot, I gave him another reason to beat himself up. Rookie mistake. “Never mind about that. And what’s this business about regretting bonding with me? Frankly, that’s kind of—hey!”
He grabbed my upper arms and held me still as I tried to push away even farther. His blue eyes flashed, and his face was hard as stone. “If bonding with you caused you to feel even a second of what I endured in that place, then yes, it’s something I deeply regret and would do anything to take back.”
Buried under the caveman response was something sweet, but I wasn’t feeling it.
“Argh. You . . .” I pointed a finger at his face. “You just . . .”
As I sputtered to find the right words, the corners of Logan’s lips just barely tipped up. I stopped talking when I spotted his involuntary reaction. Of course I’d find a guy who thought it was cute when I got mad. Actually, that was probably pretty lucky considering I did tend to have a short fuse.
I pressed my lips together and narrowed my eyelids before performing another visual sweep of his body.
Yep, he looked to be relatively healthy.
I launched myself at him and grabbed the sides of his face, and then I planted my lips right over his. Just like the first time I’d surprised him with a kiss, he was momentarily stunned.
I gently but firmly bit down on his full bottom lip in a silent demand for him to get with the program. Then I pulled back a fraction, just far enough that my lips grazed his when I spoke. “Less talking, more kissing.”
I’d gone to Hell and back for this guy. I wanted to collect my reward . . . with interest.

Author Bio:
Julie Hall is a USA Today bestselling YA fantasy author and 1st place winner of the 2012 Women of Faith national writing contest. She was also was awarded "Best Debut Author" at the 2017 Ozarks Indie Book Festival.
Before writing her first novel Julie worked as a film publicist and rubbed elbows with the rich and famous . . . as in she would gently nudge them to let them know their meal had arrived during press interviews.
She now spends most of her "office hours" with her two furry writing buddies. Her daughter thinks that mommy's superpower is “sleeping all day,” but that’s because she’s often awake until the wee hours of the morning weaving tales of adventure in worlds of her own creation. When asked in an interview what she wanted to be when she grew up, she’s quoted to have answered, “to never have to grow up.”
She currently lives in Portland, Oregon with her four favorite people--her husband, daughter, and two doodles (because dogs are people too).


Book Blitz & Giveaway for Everything He Wants by Lisa Hughey

Everything He Wants: Billionaire Breakfast Club: The Jock A #MeetCute Romance
Lisa Hughey
(Billionaire Breakfast Club, #1)
Publication date: February 13th 2018
Genres: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Boy Meets Girl. It’s the way romances usually begin…and while we all love a happy ending, it’s the #meetcute that wins our hearts.
Everything He Wants (Billionaire Breakfast Club #1 The Jock) A #meetcute romance
Their friends set up an interview, it was supposed to be simple….
D’Andre Smith has it all.
Fame. Money. Women. On the outside, his life looks perfect. But he’s got a secret that could destroy it all, so the last woman he should get involved with is a reporter.
Elise Putnam is searching for a scoop to scoop all scoops to prove her investigative chops, so the last thing she should do is get involved with an interview subject.
Their instant attraction has the potential to develop into something more if D opens his heart and Elise opens her mind. But their ingrained desire to protect their secrets may be stronger than their love….
Everything He Wants is the first book in the Billionaire Breakfast Club series. Seven strangers-with nothing in common except the desire to succeed-discover true love….
Everything He Wants: D’Andre and Elise
She Feels Like Home: Peter and Brittanica
His Dirty Little Secret: Jay and Courtney
This is the first installment in a new contemporary romance series, Billionaire Breakfast Club, by Lisa Hughey. Seven strangers (with nothing in common except a desire to succeed) discover true love…
Everything He Wants is the first book in my new series, The Billionaire Breakfast Club. The BBC is a group of seven very different friends who meet when they are young and (mostly) poor, but with dreams of one day becoming billionaires. Now they are all on the cusp of realizing their success goals, but suddenly wealth and fame don’t seem so shiny anymore. Can they learn that love is the greatest fortune of all?
Spring 2008, Cambridge, Massachusetts
D’Andre glanced around guiltily.
It was pretty much impossible to be inconspicuous as a six-four black kid while he snuck out of the Young Entrepreneur seminar, but he managed to slide out a side door as the speaker’s attention was snagged by some girl in the front row who raised her hand every five minutes.
His head hurt.
Yeah, he’d promised his mother but even this dumb football jock knew that the guy at the podium was no longer on the cutting edge. He was taking about venture tactics that might have worked when D was in elementary school but the world moved at a crazy pace.
He nodded sharply to a Hispanic kid who sat on a bench outside the closely guarded lecture hall. Something about the guy struck D as dejected but you’d never know it from looking at him.
The kid stared at D’s badge then sighed and stood.
A perfectly-groomed blond guy with shiny hair and the requisite country club attire of a navy blazer and tan khakis eased out a different side door. Huh, Richie Moneybags was cutting out too. He stopped when he saw D, then gave him a chin lift and a conspiratorial grin.
“I’m heading over to the diner across the street. Wanna come?” He was purposely slurring his words together, but even with the attempt to be ghetto, the prep school diction came through.
“Dude, that was lame.” Some surfer guy sauntered up to them as the entire lecture hall came streaming out of auditorium for a scheduled potty break. He held out his fist and waited for a fist bump. “Duke.”
D obliged. “D’Andre.”
“You are a beast.” Surfer Duke wore a suit and tie but his hair was silvery gold from salt water and he had mixed heritage olive skin with a killer tan.
“Jay.” Preppy boy nodded at them both.
Jay’s princess counterpart, the perfect preppy girl, bounced up to their little group. “Fabulous!” She clapped. “Let’s go.” She smiled at them all.
“This is Tracy,” the prince said. They made a flawless couple like a prep school Ken and Barbie.
They all walked out together. D noted that the Hispanic kid trailed behind them.
When they entered the diner, a skinny little Asian kid sat at the largest table in the place, one of those with a booth and a weird circle banquette type thing and a chair on the end. His tag hung around his scrawny neck, and D had the random thought that he could crush the guy with one hand behind his back. But Tracy walked straight up to him and smiled. “Hi.”
The kid blinked. “Uh, hi?”
“Can we sit with you? We’re from the same seminar. We also decided we’d be better off trading ideas than sitting through more of that lecture.”
“Great!” She slid into the booth and basically herded him into the corner.
No way was D squeezing into that sitting area.
He grabbed the lone chair, turned it around and straddled it.
The Hispanic kid had followed, except now that he was closer D could see the guy was older than him and the golden kids.
“Peter Nguyen.” The Asian kid chattered nervously, “I’m at Harvard. Graduated number one in my class but I’m already a junior because I took a billion AP classes.” He paused, looked at everyone as if waiting for them to list their academic prowess. “Not really a billion, of course. I was attempting to be relevant. But clearly I’ve failed at social interaction.”
And after that, everyone else said their names again with no mention of where they went to school or what their GPA was, thank fuck.
Preppy Ken said, “Jay Hollingsworth.”
“The fourth,” the bouncy girl added.
The Hispanic kid thrust out his hand. “Diego Ramos. School of life.”
No apologies. D’s impression improved.
“Why did you come here?” D wondered.
“Read about this seminar and wanted to see if I could get in.” His posture was slightly defensive as if waiting for them to tell him to get lost.
Instead of being disgusted at his sheer balls, Hollingsworth the fourth’s mouth spread into a wide, welcoming smile. “Nice. A rule breaker. Have a seat, Diego.”
The chatty princess folded her hands in front of her and bounced on the seat. “Smart. You must be really motivated.” She wasn’t rude exactly but more like examining them all like bugs under a microscope as if they were some exotic unknown species that she wanted to study.
And maybe they were.
He’d bet that he, Nguyen, and Ramos were all foreign entities in her rarified world.
“Tracy Thayer.” She gave a little wave.
“Thayer?” Nguyen asked. “As in— ”
“Ugh, yes. That’s my family.”
Jay raised one eyebrow at Harvard boy.
“Understanding the political climate of my adoptive state is only smart.”
He probably had plenty of time to study politics since he clearly didn’t get out much.
“Let’s focus on why we’re here,” Tracy said. “Entrepreneurs in training.”
“I want to be a billionaire,” Nguyen stated quickly. “But that seminar wasn’t informative enough.”
“Me too!” Tracy said.
“Money doesn’t suck,” Jay contributed.
Diego said, “I’m going to own my own business.”
They all had large goals. No way was D going to admit that he was only here because of his mother. But as he looked around the table, he thought this band of misfits might be good friends to cultivate. And he was nothing if not friendly.
Before anyone could say anything, Nguyen blurted, “Hey, we’re like the movie The Breakfast Club.”
Five blank faces.
“The Jock, the Nerd, the Rebel,” he slid a sideways look at Diego. So the Nerd paid attention. “The Free Spirit, and the Prince—” he stopped himself before he said Princess.
“Jesus, Nguyen. Do you ever get laid?” D snarked out. Peter Nguyen was the guy he couldn’t stand. So crazy smart he looked down on everyone else.
He’d clearly hurt Peter’s feelings. But shit.
Diego shot D a look. “Chicks dig smart guys. At least, according to my friends who are also crazy smart.”
“The Breakfast Club…but the billionaire version,” Nguyen said.
“We aren’t billionaires,” D was compelled to point out.
“Yet.” Jay cocked his blond head and bared his white teeth in a cocky grin.
Of course, he was pretty much guaranteed to be a billionaire by the time he was thirty.
“Uh, the building we just bugged out of was named after your grandfather. Pretty sure you’re a shoo-in.” There went Nguyen, shooting his knowledge and showing off.
Jay flushed. “Family money doesn’t mean it’s going to come to me,” he muttered.
Still, D couldn’t even imagine that kind of money. He was seriously thinking about going into the draft in a few weeks. Then he’d be making more money than he’d ever dreamed of. He might not go in the first or second round, but it would still be insane amounts of cash. That’s why his momma wanted him to come to this seminar. He wasn’t about to be stupid with his money. But billionaire?
He’d just be happy to be able to support his momma so she could quit her jobs.
The surfer dude piped up. “Got to think big, man.”
Yeah, but even D knew that what the seminar speakers were talking about wasn’t the future. So the Emerging Young Entrepreneur Seminar was a bust.
Even though Nguyen annoyed the shit out of him, D liked his optimism. Sitting in this greasy diner, he thought maybe he’d found his tribe. They all wanted similar things. Money, fame, acknowledgement. And he personally thrived on competition.
“Money isn’t everything.” Duke, the crunchy surfer dude, practically had Berkeley pacifist student tattooed on his forehead.
They all snorted.
Duke ducked his head. “Okay, yeah, it’s important.”
Diego pushed. “How about a wager, gentlemen…and lady?”
A feminine hand with black nail polish slapped on the Formica tabletop. “I’m in.” The skinny girl from the back row with the multi-colored hair and multiple piercings tossed a smirk at Hollingsworth.
“You don’t even know what it is,” Jay argued.
“Doesn’t matter.” She shoved in next to Duke. “Name’s Courtney. And this looks like the meeting to be at instead of the lame bull they’re slinging back there.” She jerked her head toward the building they’d left.
Jay tilted his chin in the air like a complete jerk. Weird since he’d been pretty mellow and open up until this point. “We didn’t invite you.”
“Oh, really. Who made you the head of this band of brothers?”
“And sister!” Tracy piped up, watching the back and forth avidly.
D tuned out Jay and Courtney as they bickered.
What could they wager?
“Guys, what’s the wager?” Courtney kicked him under the table.
Diego said, “Okay, okay, first person to make their first million buys breakfast for everyone.”
They looked around the table at each other, blinking, nodding.
“We need a name,” Tracy bounced again, such perky, slightly annoying cheerfulness. “First rule of marketing is to create and stick to your brand.”
“Billionaire Breakfast Club,” Nguyen said stubbornly.
Billionaire. D had to admit, the idea was growing on him. He loved the sound of that. As he glanced around the table, the name was already sticking with everyone.
“All those in favor say, aye.”
The chorus of Ayes was robust.
Everyone put their hand in the middle and bumped fists.
And the Billionaire Breakfast Club was formed.

Author Bio:
USA Today Bestselling Author Lisa Hughey has been writing romance since the fourth grade, which was also about the time she began her love affair with spies. Harriet and Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys later gave way to James Bond and Lara Croft and Jason Bourne.
Exploring the complex nature of a profession that requires subterfuge and lies fascinates her. She loves combining her two passions into fiction. As evidenced by her Black Cipher Files series.
Archangel Rafe was her first foray into the paranormal but after spending time in the Angelic Realm, it won't be her last. At their heart, the Seven novels are about the dynamics of family relationships. But the really hot Archangels don't hurt.
And recently she's been immersed in the Stone Family novellas, four stories about a blended family of brothers and sister who have a lot more in common than they realize. But of course she couldn't just write about family and romance. There are complex plots, bad guys, and suspense too.
Lisa loves to hear from readers and has various places you can connect with her, although, shh, Twitter is her favorite.