Friday, May 19, 2017

The Battlemage by Taran Matharu

The Battlemage (The Summoner, #3)
goodreads.com


Book three in the Summoner trilogy (though the end of the book teases a fourth book that is set prior to the events of the previous three that will come out next year). After waiting what felt like forever for this book it did not disappoint giving me lots of action, magic, and intigue. Book two ended with the group escaping into the ether which could be the death of them. This book starts with their survival until they finally find a portal to return and then the events that lead up to them saving the world from the attacking demons. Ignatius may have been my favorite character as he grew and helped Fletcher along the way as well as with his final battle with Khan. It was a great ending to the trilogy though I am happy to know more books are coming later as this author has a very addicting writing style. I give it 4/5stars.

A Reference to Murder by Kym Roberts

A Reference to Murder
goodreads.com


*Received a free copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Book two in the Book Barn Mystery series. After the events of the first book Charli decided to stay in her hometown and help her daddy run the bookstore known as the Book Barn Princess. A yearly rodeo event is gearing up to happen which brings lots of new people to the area. When a bull rider comes up missing Charli's friend Scarlett is thought to be involved which makes Charli have to investigate what really happened much to Mateo's dismay and Cade's too for that matter. No matter how many times she is scared to back off Charli just does not know when to quit though she does flush out the murderer before it is all said and done. I have to admit the very end had me laughing so hard my stomach muscles hurt for a good hour. I give it 4/5 stars.

Fatal Fiction by Kym Roberts

Fatal Fiction (A Book Barn Mystery)
goodreads.com


Book one in the Book Barn Mystery series. Charli comes home after being gone for the last twelve years only to sign the paperwork for the sale of the family business called the Book Barn Princess. She walks in the door only to find her fathers new fiance murdered and him no where to be found. While trying to deal with the emotions and issues from the past that come up upon her return she also finds herself trying to solve the murder to clear her fathers name. The male dynamics in this book had me giggling and Charli sure is an interesting character that I fell in love with before the last page. The addition of a pet pink armadillo named Princess was just the icing on the cake. I great start to a new cozy mystery series. I give it 4/5 stars.

Ill-Gotten Panes by Jennifer McAndrews

Ill-Gotten Panes (Stained-Glass, #1)
goodreads.com


Book one of the Stained-Glass series. After a scandal Georgia is forced to move back in with her grandfather after losing both her job and her fiance. The owner of the hardware store is murdered and her grandfather is the prime suspect which of course leads her to attempt to solve the case in order to clear his name. The addition of the tiny white kitten was just a bonus that i really enjoyed. Her glass work along the way was really amazing and I found myself wishing it was worked into the story a little more but even so it was still a good story with natural progression. Great for cozy mystery fans. I give it 4/5 stars.

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Death and Night by Roshani Chokshi

Death and Night (The Star-Touched Queen #0.5)
goodreads.com


 *Received a free copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Book 0.5 in the Star-Touched Queen series. To be honest this story is more of a background story type of book as the two main characters are immortals not the actual characters from the series. It is still an epic love story in its own right though and I admit that I rather enjoyed it. This author has a very vivid writing style that brings to creation some very interesting scenes throughout the course of the book plus it does provide a little insight into the background for the main series itself. Overall a very good novella and I give it 4/5 stars.

Monday, May 15, 2017

The Black Book by James Patterson

The Black Book
goodreads.com


This book was sure different. We are following the past and present life of a cop known as Billy Harney. Billy finds himself wrapped up in IA investigation which puts his butt on the line before it is all said and done. He is even shot and accused of murdering both an ADA and his partner, but suffering from memory loss Billy has no idea what really happened to him or why. He tries every trick in the book to get his memory back until a fluke event closer to the end jolts it all back for him. The real culprits came as a complete surprise to me as it also did to the characters in the book. A well written fast paced book that has an interesting murder case wrapped up with dirty cops as well. I really liked it so it gets 4/5 stars.

No Charm Intended by Mollie Cox Bryan

No Charm Intended
goodreads.com


*Received a free copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Book two in the Cora's Crafts Mystery series. After really enjoying book one I was looking forward to this installment, and I was not disappointed. This time they are gearing up for the back to nature retreat discussed in the last book where they use items found outside in their crafts. On the first day Jane's nanny comes up missing and shortly thereafter one of the nannies friends is found murdered. Of course Cora and Jane have to investigate and Cora at least finds herself in danger before it is all said and done. There is lots of action, movement, and details involved with this story. I have to admit that I did not see the end of this one coming. I love a good surprise so this one gets 4/5 stars.

Just Dreaming by Kerstin Gier

Just Dreaming (The Silver Trilogy, #3)
goodreads.com


The third and final book in the Silver trilogy or as I call it the Dream trilogy. I have been waiting for this book to come out since book two was published. In this trilogy the group of main characters have the ability to find the dream corridor in their sleep which if certain things are done can allow them access to the dreams of anyone as long as they can figure out which door is theirs. Their ex-friend Arthur and his ex Annabelle are racing each other to see which one can be the villain until the dramatic conclusion which enlightens them all. There is plenty of suspense, drama, and details to fuel the story keeping the reader hooked until the very last page. I give it 4/5 stars. Now I wonder what this author will create next...

Death Among the Doilies Mollie Cox Bryan

Death Among the Doilies (Cora Crafts Mystery #1)
goodreads.com


Book one in the Cora Craft's Mystery series. Meet Cora and her best friend Jane as they start their dream of running a craft retreat business. It is kind of similar to a B&B that also offers crafting classes and activities. The detail that the author goes into describing all of the little details shows her true love of crafting all in itself. Both women turned to this dream to escape awful and stressful pasts and when Jane finds herself as a murder suspect when the local school librarian turns up dead this brief respite comes to an end. Cora has a helping personality so she finds herself trying to solve the case to clear her friend. Wonderful development and excellent writing. I give it 4/5 stars.

A Witch Before Dying by Heather Blake

A Witch Before Dying (A Wishcraft Mystery, #2)
goodreads.com


Book two in the Wishcraft Mystery series. I have to admit these are the cutest little books. In this book Darcy finds herself investigating the murder of a woman was killed quite some time ago with Darcy just finding her body recently. Of course her wishing powers seem to keep getting her into these predicaments and adding the power of a relic known as the Anicula which can grant any wish from anyone does not help at all. The world that is created in these books is quite whimsical and I find myself loving every detail that is mentioned. The characters are also easy to love and I find myself really looking forward to reading the next book in the series. I give it 4/5 stars.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Caraval (Caraval, #1)
goodreads.com


Scarlett has grown up sheltered on an island hearing stories of a magical performance known as Caraval that occurs once a year where if you win as your dreams can come true. Shortly before her arranged marriage is to occur she actually receives tickets to attend though her sister has to trick her to get her there. Once there she is told to remember that everything is a performance and she should not believe what she is told. Of course this does not stop her at all and the whirlwind that follows is quite interesting to say the least. I felt there was quite a bit of room for improvement though because the premise leaves the door open for all kinds of things that could happen yet none seem to be delivered. I felt mildly disappointed as I read the book and felt that it was drawn out a little much in different spots when it shouldn't have been. I can only give 3/5 stars because I wanted to like it so much more than I actually did.

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

Joyful Trouble by Patricia Furstenberg

Joyful Trouble: Based on the True Story of a Dog Enlisted in the Royal Navy
goodreads.com

*Received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

This book tells the story of the dog named Joyful Trouble who was actually enlisted in the Navy during the second world war. The story is told from the point of view of a grandfather that took care of the dog telling the story to his two young grand kids. Perfect for small children and the details are amazing making the reader fall head over heals for the dog. The story is well written and I fell in love with "Trouble" before the story was all said and done. The perfect book to introduce kids to a different side of the military that they may not have known before. I give it 4/5 stars.

16th Seduction by James Patterson

16th Seduction (Women's Murder Club, #16)
goodreads.com


Book sixteen in the Women's Murder Club series. Lindsay and Joe are still separated but are trying to make things work. On date night they just happen to be close to where a huge explosion happens and Joe is very wounded during the aftermath. Lindsay finds herself involved in a court battle as the man accused tries to set her up. Of course Lindsay and her lady friends are able to figure it all out just in the nick of time like these books always do. I liked the progression and am still hooked to the characters. I give it 4/5 stars.

Monday, May 8, 2017

Bad to the Bone by Linda O. Johnston

Bad to the Bone
goodreads.com


*Received free copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Book three in the Barkery & Biscuits Mystery series though I was unaware of that fact until I was about half way through it. The several references to the events of the previous two books just reminded me why I never read books in a series out of order. Oh well guess it could be worse though now I fully intend to catch up with the previous two to see what all I missed. For this one Carrie finds herself involved in solving a murder in order to help a couple of friends of hers though she is not actually a suspect in the women's murder herself. Family and friends beg her not to intervene but she just cannot seem to help herself. She has an interesting way of solving things and I loved the addition of all the animals along the way. This is a great cozy mystery and I really look forward to reading the previous books as well as any new ones that come out. It gets 4/5 stars.


Sunday, May 7, 2017

Camp-Half Blood Confidential by Rick Riordan

Camp-Half Blood Confidential
goodreads.com

A companion book to the Trials of Apollo series though it can also be linked to the Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus series. This book is Percy's take on the camp that is the center of all three of these series though it does mention events that happen in the first two in passing. Percy cracks me up with his comments and helpful insights along the way. This is an interesting addition to the series that offers a few more details than what may be in the books themselves. Definitely worth reading for fans of Riordan's work. I give it 4/5 stars.


Golden Prey by John Sandford

Golden Prey (Lucas Davenport, #27)
goodreads.com


Book 27 in the Lucas Davenport series and yes I have read every single one of them. I have to admit that Lucas is very good at hunting bad guys no matter which agency he happens to be working for. He has amassed quite a bit of political clout by this point and has officially been hired by the United States Marshall service meaning he now has power across the entire country. In this book he gets to chase a long time robber that has been at large for over ten years and after stealing from drug dealers he is being hunted for the money so Lucas has to find him first. The way he breaks the case in incredible and there are lots of intense scenes throughout the book. My only complaint is that he has all new co-workers so old reoccurring characters are not in here though the ending had me dying laughing. I still really enjoyed it though and give it 4/5 stars.

Friday, May 5, 2017

A Face Like Glass by Francis Hardinge

A Face Like Glass
goodreads.com


*Received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Well this book was definitely different. It consists of an nation that was built underground using elaborate methods by people that pretty much have no real facial expressions having to be taught the ones they can use. I would find this very off putting to say the least especially since the lower classes are trained with very few expressions making them really unable to convey their true emotions. The main character Neverfell comes from above ground and has a face that shows all of her thoughts like glass would hence the title. The book is about her being used as a tool by everyone while she struggles to regain control of her life. It is a really good premise but I had a hard time really getting into the story though I enjoyed the little details sprinkled throughout. I can only give it 3/5 stars.

Daisies for Innocence by Bailey Cattrell

Daisies for Innocence (Enchanted Garden Mystery, #1)
goodreads.com



Book one in the Enchanted Garden Mystery series. I just loved this book! Elliana Allbright owns a perfume/aromatherapy shop but what she does not realize is that she possesses family magic that allows her to be so good with scents. In this book we have a murder of course which she is the prime suspect in since it is her ex-husbands new girlfriend. I love the mix of magic, mystery, and lots of details  especially in her garden to move the story along. The cute little Corgi is a nice addition as well. Excellent writing I must admit and I am really looking forward to the next book in the series. I give it 5/5 stars.

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

The Girl Who Knew Too Much by Amanda Quick

The Girl Who Knew Too Much
goodreads.com


*Received a free copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Expected publication date is May 9, 2017.

I am a huge fan of this no matter which pen name she is using at the moment (for those who do not know she also writes as Jayne Ann Krentz and Jayne Castle). Under this name the books are usually set in the past somewhere and this one seems to fall in the years between the two world wars. When Irene comes home to find her boss murdered she finds the word run in blood on the wall as well as a brief note of vague explanation. She quickly follows the suggestion reinventing herself on the opposite side of the country as a reporter for a gossip magazine. While researching a story she finds herself in the cross hairs of the killer while her own personal demons show up at the same time. The book moves at a quick pace with plenty of intrigue in a well-developed manner. Great for fans of mystery, suspense, and a little romance thrown in as well. I really enjoyed reading it. I give it 4/5 stars.

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Murder is Binding by Lorna Barrett

Murder is Binding (A Booktown Mystery, #1)
goodreads.com


Book one is the Booktown Mystery series. Meet Tricia who runs a mystery bookshop in a small town that is full of specialized book stores that just happened to reinvigorate the crumbling downtown area. Tricia finds her neighboring shop owner dead and herself as the prime suspect after the female sheriff decides to dislike her. Having read plenty of mystery novels she decides to investigate herself to clear her name and the development is quite interesting to say the least. Some smooth writing with lots of little details to move the story along. The characters are well-developed and the end of the mystery was ingenious. I look forward to reading more books in this series and give this one 4/5 stars.

Fairy Tale Reform School series books 1-3 by Jen Calonita


 Tricked (Fairy Tale Reform School #3)


 Charmed (Fairy Tale Reform School, #2)

Flunked (Fairy Tale Reform School, #1)
goodreads.com


I just happened to read all three books in this series back-to-back so I decided to write the reviews altogether. Book 1 is Flunked where we meet Gilly the cobblers daughter who resorts to stealing to feed her siblings only to get caught. Once you receive your third strike you are sent to Fairy Tale Reform School which is led by the former villains such as Maleficent, the Evil Queen, the Big Bad Wolf, and more who have all decided to repent of their evils way and reform children traveling down the wrong path. Wonderful premise and some good writing. Book 2 is called Charmed and book 3 is called Tricked. All three follow a specific group of kids that are easy to get attached to as they save the world around them by the end of each book. I loved them and they are great fro kids ages 10 and up. I give them all 4/5 stars.

Saturday, April 29, 2017

Tightening the Threads by Lea Wait

Tightening the Threads (Mainely Needlepoint, #5)
goodreads.com


Book five in the Mainely Needlepoint series. In this book Angie's friend Sarah has found her lost family members, and her Uncle who is dying tries to introduce her to the family with some really mixed results. While coping with the news Uncle Ted dies the very next day during a lobster bake they all put together. Before they can cope with that another member of the family is found dead. Of course there is an investigation that Angie finds herself mixed up in. The development is awesome, and I found the ending a little surprising to say the least. I give it 4/5 stars.

Friday, April 28, 2017

Dangling by a Thread by Lea Wait

Dangling by a Thread (Mainely Needlepoint, #4)
goodreads.com


Book four in the Mainely Needlepoint series. Angie is getting close to the six month trial period she gave herself for deciding if she will stay in Maine. She seems quite happy with her new role in life if a little lonely after Gram and her cat Juno moved out of the family home. In this book she meets Jesse a veteran that chooses to live his life on a deserted island off the coast that he half owns with his cousin. When a wealthy man visits he decides he would like to buy the island despite the fact that it is a nesting ground for at risk birds. Of course poor Jesse is murdered though the culprit was not who i expected. Angie adopts a little kitten she names Trixie along the way making her home feel more home-like. Overall good development, smooth writing, and plenty of nice little details. I really enjoyed the environmentalists stance on the birds and the fight they were willing to mount to save them. I give it 4/5 stars.

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Ghostal Living by Kathleen Bridge

Ghostal Living (Hamptons Home & Garden Mysteries #3)
goodreads.com


*Received an ARC copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Expected publication date is May 2, 2017.

Book three in the Hamptons Home * Garden Mystery series. I am loving Meg by this point. In this book she gets to decorate an entire B & B in bibliophile period style which is right up her alley. There is also a rare Fitzgerald manuscript involved in the mystery. The romance angle takes a little loop as well though I was quite happy by the end. Smooth writing, natural progression, and enough action to keep the reader hooked until the last page. Another great book for fans of cozy mysteries. I give it 4/5 stars.

Hearse and Gardens by Kathleen Bridge

Hearse and Gardens
goodreads.com


Book two in the Hamptons Home & Garden Mystery series. We meet back up with Meg a few months after the events of the first book only now she is involved in a court battle for ownership of her new cottage and Cole is off on a long business trip leaving the door open for a new romance which makes things interesting though I am not sure that I am a real fan of Byron's but we will see. This time the murder revolves and extension of Elle's family and full blown skeletons. The writing is smooth, the events keep you hooked, and the end leaves you waiting for me in exasperation. I was just happy to have access to the next book to see where this going. A must read for fans of cozy mysteries. I give it 4/5 star.

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Better Homes and Corpses by Kathleen Bridge

Better Homes and Corpses (Hamptons Home & Garden Mystery #1)
goodreads.com



Book one in the Hamptons Home & Garden Mysteries. Meet Meg Barrett who runs a type of interior decorating business out of Montauk which happens to be close to East Hampton. As she showed up to a meeting to see about cataloging the contents of an old attic she walks in to find the Queen of the Hamptons dead and her daughter injured rocking the body. She is hired along with her best friend Elle to catalogue the contents of the house for the insurance company and while doing so finds herself wrapped up in solving the murder which is normal phenomena for her because her father is a retired detective. The development was smooth, the characters are well developed, and the story kept me hooked until the end. I really enjoyed it and give it 4/5 stars.

Monday, April 24, 2017

Death in Dark Blue by Julia Buckley

Death in Dark Blue (A Writer's Apprentice Mystery #2)
goodreads.com


* Received ARC copy from Netgalley in exchange fro an honest review. Expected publication date is May 2, 2017.

Book two in the Writer's Apprentice Mystery series. Lena has gotten comfortable by this point having been with Camilla for a couple of months and she even got her name added to the cover of the last book they wrote together. When the advanced copies show up she rushes to give one to Sam and after leaving it in his mailbox she sees what looks like an animal lying in the snow behind his house. When she looks closer it just happens to be the dead body of Sam's missing wife's best friend making the media go crazy. Lena and Camilla start investigating just to clear Sam's name and the end result was a little surprising as well as  the every end of the book (though I cannot say more without spoilers). I really enjoyed this book and thinks its great for fans of cozy mysteries with well-developed characters. I give it 4/5 stars.

A Dark and Stormy Murder by Julia Buckley

A Dark and Stormy Murder (A Writer's Apprentice Mystery #1)
goodreads.com


Book one in the Writer's Apprentice Mystery series. Lena London gets the job of her dreams as an assistant and co-writer to her favorite novelist of all time Camilla Graham. Not only is she employed by her she gets to live in her house as well. On her very first day there she happens to see a body on the nearby beach in the middle of a bad storm. Of course this puts her in  the middle of the investigation and being used to research as a write she had an insatiable curiosity to learn more. The book is very well written and I found myself engrossed until the end. Great fro fans of cozy mysteries. I look forward to the next book in the series and give this one 4/5 stars.

Once Upon a Dream by Liz Braswell

Once Upon a Dream (A Twisted Tale, #2)
goodreads.com


The second Twisted Tales novel. I know I know why did I read this if I really did enjoy the last one? Well I had to give another chance maybe she just struggles with the tweaking of the Aladdin told, but I do not think so after being tortured by this one. The premise is what if Sleeping Beauty did not wake up? The whole story is a dream in her head and if that is the case she must be the most boring princess on the planet and do not even get me starting on the love sick prince as he about made me vomit. I was really disappointed because the premise had such potential. If I was not determined than I never would have made it to the end of this one. I gave it 2/5 stars, but it probably deserves a 1.5. I really contemplating not even touching book three.

A Whole New World by Liz Braswell

A Whole New World (A Twisted Tale #1)
goodreads.com


The first book in a series called Twisted Tales though each book stand alone. This book tells the story of what might have happened in the Disney story of Aladdin if Jafar got the lamp from the cave instead of Al leaving him trapped underground while Jafar got all the wishes. While it is a lovely premise (especially since I am a huge Disney fan) the story left much to be desired. Parts felt like I was reading the book version of movie, other parts were just weird, and there was quite a bit of violence that I was not expecting (though was not offended by at all it just felt weird). I am not a fan after this book. I gave it 3/5 stars on Goodreads but it is really closer to a 2.5.

The Walled Flower by Lorraine Bartlett

The Walled Flower (Victoria Square, #2)
goodreads.com


Book two of the Victoria Square series and much better than book one. With all of the characters fully established at this point the story gets a little more in depth into what makes them tick giving the story another layer to enjoy. The close by old mansion has been bought and as the new owners begin making renovations they find a dead body in the wall that had obviously been there for quite some  time. As the police begin investigating more bodies start to pop up making everyone fear for their lives and of course Katie is right in the middle of it all. My only complaint is that I wish she would stand up to Andy about the constant pizza and no time off work but maybe we can take care of that in another book. I give this 4/5 stars.

One Blood Ruby by Marissa Marr

One Blood Ruby (Seven Black Diamonds, #2)
goodreads.com


Book two in the Seven Black Diamonds series. In book one we l earned that Lily and her group are all descendants of the Fae and were created to became weapons of the Queens wrath. Well with the exception of Lily who is really her granddaughter and rightful heir to the throne. This book picks up right after t hat with the chaos that ensues once it becomes known that she will be crowned heir, and the Queen will call off her war against the humans. There is lots of magic, action, and drama as the story unfolds that I really enjoyed. Great for fans of fantasy YA. I give it 4/5 stars.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Snared by Jennifer Estep

Snared (Elemental Assassin, #16)
goodreads.com


*Received advanced reading copy from Netgalley. Expected publication date is April 25, 2017.

Book sixteen in the Elemental Assassin series. This book picks up with Gin still hunting for information about the Circle so she can finally take down the people responsible for ordering the hit on her mother. While investigating the sister of a friend is kidnapped and Gin gets asked to help locate her. She finds a serial killer along the way that she has to take out before it is all over. The action and teamwork in the book was incredible. I found myself rooting for Gin to figure it out knowing she would before ti was over. It was upsetting that solving this mystery hindered her progress on the circle investigation I imagine that something will come to light eventually. I look forward to the next book in the series to find out. I give it 4/5 stars.

Pepper, Pumpkin and the Magical Pajamas: Pumpkin Is Missing by Rita Madison

Pepper, Pumpkin and the Magical Pajamas: Pumpkin Is Missing
goodreads.com


*Received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

In this adorable book for children in lower grades still building their reading skills we meet Pepper and her cat Pumpkin. We get the whole story of how they met, and what they normally do together until one day Pumpkin comes up missing. Pepper is upset and looks everywhere for her. By the end of the day she has had no luck but remembers the magical pajamas her Nana sent her. After wishing to find Pumpkin with the them she has a happy ending the next day while learning the lesson to always make sure the cat does not get out the door. A really cute story easy for kids to read and relate to. I give it 4/5 stars.

King's Cage by Victoria Aveyard

Book three in the Red Queen series. At the start of the this book Mare is a prisoner of Mavis having sacrificed herself to save the rest at the end of the second book. The captivity part seemed to drag on forever, and I found myself wishing ti was over already. Then the book finally started to get good, and it was over. Now I have to wait for the next one to find out what in the world happens next. Lots of good fantasy world building but slow on actual action events. I marked it as 4/5 stars on Goodreads but to be perfectly honest it is closer to a 3.5.
King's Cage (Red Queen, #3)

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Cover Reveal and Giveaway for Spells to Die For by CC Dragon


COVER REVEAL MEDIA KIT
Spells to Die For (Witch's Brew Cozy Mystery, #2) by C.C. Dragon
Release Date: May 2, 2017 – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071R9Z354 (preorder link)
Genre: Cozy Paranormal Mystery

CoverReveal.png

Blurb

Claudia Crestwood and friends are back again for more mystery, murder, and magic!

New witches are welcomed to town. Even invited to a coven meeting. Then deadly spells turn up missing from the family collection—was it the rival witch or the one who turned up dead? Either way, Claudia needs to retrieve the spells and solve the murder…

With a competing coven growing and a new werewolf in town, Claudia has her hands full. Add in the personal secret she’s still trying to uncover plus her first magical ball and she needs all the help she can conjure!

ABOUT C.C. DRAGON

Cozy Mysteries With Sass & Romantic Suspense That Sizzles!

A loyal Chicago girl who loves deep dish pizza, the Cubs, and the Lake, C.C. Dragon is fascinated by mysteries, sleuthing, as well as the supernatural. The southern connection comes in because her sister moved down there and the material was too fun and entertaining not to set a series there.

C.C. loves creating characters, especially amateur sleuths who solve crimes in their spare time. A coffee and chocolate addict who loves fast cars, she’s still looking for a hero who likes to cook and clean…so she can write more! http://www.ccdragon.com/


AUTHOR LINKS

GIVEAWAY

Win $25 Amazon Gift Card, Signed copy of the book of your choice, and a CC/Cheryl Dragon swag pack! Ends April 30, 2017. Open to US residents only.

<a class="rcptr" href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/b68a4d3f1/" rel="nofollow" data-raflid="b68a4d3f1" data-theme="classic" data-template="" id="rcwidget_mr27t275">a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>
<script src="https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js"></script>

LINK: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/b68a4d3f1/

 


It Takes a Witch by Heather Blake

It Takes a Witch (A Wishcraft Mystery, #1)
goodreads.com


Book one in  the Wishcraft Mystery series. I really enjoyed this book. Blake introduces a world where magic exists, and the people that possess this gift are known as crafters at least in their world. They banded together to create a village that looks like it was made fro tourist in an effort to keep their secrets. Darcy and her sister Harper were unaware that they even had powers until their father passed away. Then their aunt contacted them to bring them into the fold. Darcy is still learning the rules, and being around when a murder victim was found did not help things at all. She is steady trying to embrace her new skills while also running around trying to solve a murder. The little details are great, and I am looking forward to many more installments in this series. I give it 4/5 star.

Thread and Gone by Lea Wait

Thread and Gone (Mainely Needlepoint, #3)
goodreads.com


Book three in the Mainely Needlepoint series. Angie has been home for two months by this point, and Gram just got married leaving on her honeymoon. While she is away a young couple discover a piece of really old embroidery of the attic of her familys home that may be worth a small fortune. Of course it brings too much attention and the next thing they know the lawyer that was holding it for them all is murdered. Having trained with a PI Angie cannot leave the case alone until she finally helps solve it. This is acute little story but I had a hard time staying interested this time around so I can only give it 3/5 stars.

No Easy Target by Iris Johansen

No Easy Target
goodreads.com



*Received ARC copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. The expected publication date is April 25, 2017.

This book was awesome! Margaret was introduced as a peripheral character quite some time ago, but her story was never told. Now we finally get to read what her background really is that made her the woman we know and love today. I really enjoyed the development, and in typical Iris fashion I was unable to put the book down until I finished it all. I love the way she links all of the characters together to keep the bigger story going. I recommend it to all fans of a good suspense/murder book and of course if you are already an Iris fan like me you will have to read it just because. I give it 5/5 stars.

Monday, April 17, 2017

Threads of Evidence by Lea Wait

Threads of Evidence (Mainely Needlepoint, #2)
goodreads.com


Book two in the Mainely Needlepoint series. Angie is getting comfortable by this point settling into her role at the head of the needle point group. A famous mansion has sat empty in town for decades until finally a celebrity buys the place. Of course everyone in interested in the why until they discover that the actress was the best friend of the teen that was murdered there years ago and is determined to find out who killed her. It was interesting to the evolution of this case since it involved no new bodies just attempts yet they still solved it in the end. I am enjoying the overarching story line and am looking forward to reading the next installment in the series. I give it 4/5 stars.

Saturday, April 15, 2017

Murder on the Serpentine by Anne Perry

Murder on the Serpentine (Charlotte & Thomas Pitt #32)
goodreads.com


Book 32 in the Charlotte and Thomas Pitt series. Anne has done it again. The characters are a little older now, but they are still sharp. Thomas ends up investigating a case that could make or break his career. of course Charlotte decides to help along the way dragging her sister Emily into it. The information they find does help, and the end to the case surprised me to say the least. I missed Vespasia though since she was traveling abroad her personality was not there to make me giggle. Really good case though, and I love the historical accuracy. I give it 4/5 stars.

How to Wash a Cat by Rebecca M. Hale


How to Wash a Cat (The Cats and Curios Mystery #1)

Book one of the Cats & Curios Mystery series. Meet Rebecca who inherits a building complete with an antique shop as well as a mystery when her Uncle dies. She comes along with two cats that have some very interesting personalities that help her with the mystery along the way. She also finds her Uncles murderer as she stumbles along. I really enjoyed the story and the characters  are easy to relate to. I look forward to reading more books in this series and give it 4/5 stars. Great for fans of cozy mysteries and cats.

Double-Booked for Death by Ali Brandon

Double-Booked for Death (Black Cat Bookshop Mystery, #1)
goodreads.com


Book one in the Black Cat Bookshop Mystery series. I just might be in love with this cat. Darla inherits a bookstore, a cat, and an entire building when her Aunt Deedee dies. She in determined to make it a success. At her first book signing the author ends up dead, and they all get involved to find out what happened including the cat who pulls out books to give clues. Excellent cozy mystery especially for cat lovers. I give it 4/5 stars.

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

A Tale of Two Biddies by Kylie Logan

A Tale of Two Biddies  (League of Literary Ladies #2)
goodreads.com


Book two in the League of Literary Ladies series. The B & B is up and running full speed by this point with a full with a full house expected for the upcoming holidays. A large portion of her guests are members of an old boy band. Shortly after they arrive things start to look a hinky until Bea finds the body of Richie in Levi's bar after the fireworks. Of course her and her group of ladies feel compelled to help solve the murder especially since the events again somewhat mirror the events in their current discussion group book. I loved the development, and the story kept me hooked until the end. Great for fans of cozy mysteries. I give it 4/5 stars.

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Glass Sword (Red Queen, #2)
goodreads.com


Book two in Red Queen series though it may be a trilogy I'm not sure yet. This book picks up where book one left off. Mare and Cal have barely escaped with their lives, and are now being held by the Red Guard. Maven has taken control and is determined to recapture Mare at any cost. While avoiding capture Mare begins to rescue the other new bloods on the list that Julian gave her, and by the end of the book things have definitely come to a head. Considering the cliffhanger ending I cannot wait to get my hands on the next installment in the series. Perfect for fans of YA fantasy novels. I give it 4/5 star.

Monday, April 10, 2017

Shadowfever by Karen Marie Moning

Shadowfever (Fever #5)
goodreads.com


Book five of the Fever series. I really hope that you have read books 1-4 before tackling this story. If you have this book will blow your mind. It is good from start to finish, and I found myself unable to put it down. It kept surprising me left and right. I loved every minute of it. The characters have evolved so well throughout the series that I felt like I was there with Mac rooting her on all the way. A wonderful climax for the arching story line. I can't help but wonder where the next book will take me. I give it 5/5 stars.