Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Blog Tour, Review, & Giveaway for Playing With Bonbon Fire by Dorothy St. James


Playing With Bonbon Fire: 

A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery  

by Dorothy St. James

About the Book

 
Cozy Mystery 2nd in Series  
Crooked Lane Books (March 13, 2018)  
Hardcover: 352 pages  
ISBN-13: 978-1683314684  
Digital ASIN: B074MBXLWX 
 
Chocoholic Charity Penn must smoke out the killer to stop her newly inherited beachside chocolate shop from going up in flames in Dorothy St. James’ decadent follow-up to Asking for Truffle.
Chocolate shop owner Charity Penn is finally settling into life in the quirky South Carolina seaside town of Camellia Beach cooking up chocolate treats. She’s even helped organize the town’s lively beach music festival which has brought rollicking crowds eager to dance the Carolina shag. That is, until one of the band’s lead singers is found dead beside a beach bonfire.
While also trying to balance the amorous attention of music star Bixby Lewis, in town for the festival, and her quest to perfect a new hot flavored bonbon, Charity dives into the investigation. Though it’s more spice than sugar when she discovers a threatening note, comes across decades of age-old secrets, and Bixby comes into the line of fire when a gas grill explodes on the deck of a beachfront house.
Now Charity must turn up the heat and catch the killer before her chance melts away in Playing With Bonbon Fire, the delightful second Southern Chocolate Shop mystery served up just right for fans of JoAnna Carl and Joanne Fluke.

About the Author

Mystery author Dorothy St. James was born in New York but raised in South Carolina. She makes her home on an artsy island community in South Carolina with her husband, a neurotic dog, and fluffy cat. Though writing has always been a passion for her, she pursued an undergraduate degree in Wildlife Biology and a graduate degree in Public Administration and Urban Planning. She put her educational experience to use, having worked in all branches and all levels of government including local, regional, state, and federal. She even spent time during college working for a non-profit environmental watchdog organization.
Switching from government service and community planning to fiction writing wasn't as big of a change as some might think. Her government work was all about the stories of the people and the places where they live. As an urban planner, Dorothy loved telling the stories of the people she met. And from that, her desire to tell the tales that were so alive in her heart grew until she could not ignore it any longer. In 2001, she took a leap of faith and pursued her dream of writing fiction full-time.
Known for the White House Gardener Mystery series, Dorothy is going back to her roots and setting a mystery series in a Southern beach town much like the one she’s called home for the past 20 years. The Southern Chocolate Shop Mysteries combine her love of fine chocolates, quirky Southern charm, with a dash of danger.
* Dorothy St. James is the alter-ego of the award-winning multi-published author, Dorothy McFalls. She enjoys writing in several different genres. Her works have been nominated for many awards including Romantic Times Reviewers' Choice Award, Reviewers International Organization Award, National Reader's Choice Award, CataRomance Reviewers' Choice Award, and The Romance Reviews Today Perfect 10! Award. Reviewers have called her work: "amazing", "perfect", "filled with emotion", and "lined with danger."

Author Links  

Purchase Links 
 Amazon 
 Kobo 

REVIEW
*I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley which I voluntarily chose to write an honest review for.

Okay so I just fell in love with book. We get chocolate, a cute (though vicious) dog, enough family drama for a lifetime, and a mystery to solve all in one book. The chocolate shop alone makes it worthwhile but reading about Penn constantly failing at the treat creation had me giggling I must say though she really seems to have the original creation part down pat. This time Penn is helping with a big music festival that will be going on and her sister got her famous musician to perform for free. Well of course this brings lots of paparazzi and crazy fans with it. After the first concert a body is found dead on the beach under a bonfire and while trying to figure out what happened there lots of other strange things start happening until Penn is wrapped in all kinds of stuff. I was loving the emotional depths that this book took and the mystery itself was more involved then most as well. I think that all chocolate lovers should read this book/series and the cozy mystery fans in general. I loved every page and was actually upset that it ended so I give it 5/5 stars.


TOUR PARTICIPANTS  
March 11 – Babs Book Bistro – GUEST POST  
March 11 – A Chick Who Reads – REVIEW  
March 11 – La libreria di Beppe – SPOTLIGHT  
March 12 – Ruff Drafts – SPOTLIGHT  
March 12 – Lisa Ks Book Reviews - REVIEW, INTERVIEW  
March 13 – Laura's Interests – REVIEW  
March 13 – Bibliophile Reviews – REVIEW  
March 13 – Teresa Trent Author Blog – SPOTLIGHT  
March 14 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW  
March 14 – Writing Pearls – REVIEW  
March 14 – Sapphyria's Books - SPOTLIGHT  
March 15 – Queen of All She Reads - REVIEW  
March 15 – A Cozy Experience – REVIEW  
March 16 – StoreyBook Reviews - CHARACTER GUEST POST
March 16 – Back Porchervations – REVIEW  
March 17 – The Montana Bookaholic – REVIEW  
March 17 – The Self-Rescue Princess – CHARACTER INTERVIEW  
March 18 – A Holland Reads - CHARACTER GUEST POST  
March 18 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW  
March 18 – T's Stuff – SPOTLIGHT  
March 19 – View from the Birdhouse – SPOTLIGHT  
March 19 – Jane Reads - CHARACTER GUEST POST
March 20 – Mysteries with Character – GUEST POST  
March 20 – Texas Book-aholic – REVIEW  
March 20 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW  
March 21 – Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews - SPOTLIGHT  
March 21 – Moonlight Rendezvous – REVIEW  
March 22 – Valerie's Musings - REVIEW, INTERVIEW  
March 22 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW  
March 23 – Melina's Book Blog – REVIEW  
March 23 – Brooke Blogs – GUEST POST  
March 24 – The Book's the Thing – REVIEW  
March 24 – A Blue Million Books – CHARACTER INTERVIEW  
March 24 – Ms. Cat's Honest World – SPOTLIGHT
 
   
Have you signed up to be a Tour Host? Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!

No comments:

Post a Comment